Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Gasoline Rainbows. Pretty significant, don't you think? I hope that you have already heard about this ah-mazing compilation album & downloaded it from iTunes already. But on the off chance that you haven't... I'm here to tell ya'll how great it is.

Info: In an effort to help communities impacted by the Deepwater Horizon oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico, some of today’s hottest bands have joined together with Global Green USA to release a benefit compilation album entitled Gasoline Rainbows,out on November 30, 2010 via Roark Records exclusively as a digital download.
The compilation was brought together by actress Sophia Bush and actor Austin Nichols, likely best known for their roles on the television show One Tree Hill. Sophia and Austin traveled, with Global Green, to Grand Isle, LA, visiting beaches and seeing the devastation wrought by the Deepwater Horizon spill first hand. Moved by the stretches of oil along the once-beautiful beaches, as well as the devastation to the wildlife, they decided to help in whatever way they could, and this compilation is the direct result.
100% of the artist and label proceeds from Gasoline Rainbows will be used for Global Green’s oil spill response to directly assist the local communities, people, and ecosystems impacted by the BP Oil Spill, educate the public, push for more regulation (to ensure a tragedy like this never happens again) and advocate for a greener, cleaner economy.
Gasoline Rainbows will include material by some of the most popular names in music, alongside new up-and-coming talents, including music by LCD Soundsystem, Phoenix, Silversun Pickups, Vampire Weekend, Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros, among others.
Not only will the compilation feature incredible tracks by these artists, the set will contain three brand new, previously unreleased tracks as well. Singer-songwriters Amy Kuney, Damien Rice and City and Colour will all be providing never before heard material for the compilation.

INCREDIBLE. Right? I was absolutely floored when I first heard about this project. I, of course, heard of it a couple months back via Sophia Bush & Austin Nichols on twitter (my One Tree Hill peeps). They are SO inspiring.. Every Single Day. But this, this was just too much. I'm pretty positive that they are really superheroes. They organized this entire process & with the help of some amazing artists put together a really freaking awesome album with an even better cause. 
And despite the fact that the music is so amazingly awesome & I already owned every song (with the exception of the three previously unreleased tracks) -insert my squealing here- I bought it anyway. I probably would have bought it even if the music sucked because of the cause & the people behind it are so awesome, but it doesn't, IT ROCKS!!
And even better, Amy Kuney's new track, & namesake of the entire album, Gasoline Rainbows, is currently coming at you free on iTunes. So go & check it out, & get a little taste of the brilliant music bursting out of this album. You won't be able to resist purchasing the entire thing. I swear that when I listen to it the inspiration just pours out of me.
Okay, I digress. I will stop with the preachy, preachy now. But I am just so excited about this album -- the music, the generous hearts of the musicians behind it, the hard work & dedication of Sophia & Austin, & the devastated victims that will benefit from me listening to it. It just makes my heart full. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do.
And here is the entire track listing-
1. “Gasoline Rainbows” - Amy Kuney*
2. “Armistice” - Phoenix 
3. “40 Day Dream” - Edward Sharpe And The Magnetic Zeros
4. “There’s No Secret’s This Year” - Silversun Pickups
5. “At The Birds Foot” - City and Colour*
6. “The Connoisseur of Great Excuse” - Damien Rice*
7. “Bloodbuzz Ohio” - The National
8. “Tighten Up” - The Black Keys
9. “Let The Time Roll By” - Onward, Soldiers
10. “Moth’s Wings” - Passion Pit 
11. “Floating Vibes” - Surfer Blood 
12. “Mama Taught Me Better” - Black Rebel Motorcycle Club
13. “I Can Change” - LCD Soundsystem
14. “Cousins” - Vampire Weekend
*new material

Did your head just explode? 

And keep in mind what a great gift idea this would be for the holidays?! It's extremely generous & it sounds great. I know a lot of people that would feel good getting it. 
Download link here.
Original article here.