Thursday, February 19, 2009

I am so excited! It just so happens that we bought our record player at exactly the right moment, because whether we had one or not, this album on vinyl would have for sure been mine this week. Dark Was The Night is a compilation album comprised of 31 exclusive indie tracks {available as a double cd/triple vinyl/download} and just released on Tuesday! Brothers Aaron and Bryce Dessner {of The National} have produced the album, and teamed up with the very best of today's {and tomorrow's} artists to bring us this baby!!

As if you weren't already running to your nearest music store to pick up your copy of this piece of magic, let me tell you that purchasing this album will benefit the Red Hot Organization – an international charity dedicated to raising money and awareness for HIV and AIDS through popular culture!

And here is the track listing for your ogling pleasure {yep, most of these are exclusive, can't-be-found-anywhere-else tracks!}

1 Knotty Pine – Dirty Projectors + David Byrne
2 Cello Song (Nick Drake) – The Books featuring Jose Gonzalez
3 Train Song (Vashti Bunyan recorded, written by Alasdair Clayre) – Feist + Ben Gibbard
4 Brackett, WI – Bon Iver
5 Deep Blue Sea – Grizzly Bear
6 So Far Around the Bend – The National (arrangement by Nico Muhly)
7 Tightrope – Yeasayer
8 Feeling Good (popularized by Nina Simone) – My Brightest Diamond
9 Dark Was the Night (Blind Willie Johnson) – Kronos Quartet
10 I Was Young When I Left Home (Bob Dylan) – Antony + Bryce Dessner
11 Big Red Machine – Justin Vernon + Aaron Dessner
12 Sleepless – The Decemberists
13 Stolen Houses (Die) – Iron and Wine
14 Service Bell – Grizzly Bear + Feist
15 You Are The Blood – Sufjan Stevens

1 Well-Alright – Spoon
2 Lenin – Arcade Fire
3 Mimizan – Beirut
4 El Caporal – My Morning Jacket
5 Inspiration Information (Shuggie Otis) – Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings
6 With A Girl Like You (The Troggs) – Dave Sitek
7 Blood Pt 2 (based on original song “You are the Blood” by the Castanets) – Buck 65 Remix (featuring Sufjan Stevens and Serengeti)
8 Hey, Snow White (Destroyer) – The New Pornographers
9 Gentle Hour (Snapper) – Yo La Tengo
10 Another Saturday (traditional song) – Stuart Murdoch
11 Happiness – Riceboy Sleeps
12 Amazing Grace (traditional song) – Cat Power and Dirty Delta Blues
13 The Giant Of Illinois (Handsome Family) – Andrew Bird
14 Lua – Conor Oberst + Gillian Welch
15 When the Road Runs Out – Blonde Redhead + Devastations
16 Love vs. Porn – Kevin Drew

I am anxiously awaiting my copy to arrive which finally shipped yesterday from Amazon as most stores are already sold out!! So, I hope this didn't sound too sales-pitchy for you, but I am just really excited about this album, the hard work that went into it, the amazing sound coming out of it, and where the money is going. I hope that you are too!

currently listening to :: train song by feist + ben gibbard.